California Dolphin: statewide California news

De La Salle, Menlo-Atherton stars receive state honors

The awards continue to pile up for De La Salle’s Henry To’oto’o.
The four-star linebacker was named the state’s defensive player of the year Friday night by Cal-Hi Sports after a season in which he helped lead De La Salle to an undefeated regular season, which included a 14-0 win over high-powered Folsom and a victory over Bishop Gorman-Las Vegas, and another North Coast Section Open Division championship.
The Spartans fell short of their ultimate goal — an Open Division state crown — but To’oto’o’s presence in the championship game against Mater Dei-Santa Ana is something that will not be forgotten.
He broke his foot in a walk-through practice on the eve of the game but still played. To’oto’o, who was named Bay Area News Group player of the year last month, was unable to get on the field as a running back but finished with six tackles on defense.
“Amazed he played at all,” DLS coach Justin Alumbaugh told the Bay Area News Group the day after the game. “We couldn’t convince him otherwise. Love that kid. To be a superstar or whatever they call it and act like he does is what helps me coach.”
To’oto’o is the sixth De La Salle player to receive Cal-Hi’s defensive player of the year award. He joins Michael Hutchings (2012), Michael Barton (2011), Derek Landri (2001), Kevin Simon (2000) and D.J. Williams (1999).
In the fall, To’oto’o will move on to college football. His list of offers include Alabama, Oregon, Tennessee, Utah and Washington.
M-A star honored, too
All season, Menlo-Atherton receiver Troy Franklin carried the weight of being’s top college prospect from California in the Class of 2021. He didn’t allow that to slow him down, making big play after big play down the stretch as the Bears won a state championship.
Friday, Cal-Hi Sports named Franklin i ts state sophomore of the year . He is the first M-A player to receive a player of the year honor from Cal-Hi Sports.
The first-team all-Bay Area News Group selection scored two touchdowns in the Central Coast Section Open Division I final against Wilcox — including the winner on a 17-yard run — and found the end zone three times in the NorCal Division 3-AA final against Eureka, including the winner on a 70-yard run. He also caught a 50-yard touchdown in the 3-AA state final against Lincoln-San Diego.
McClymonds coach also recognized
The latest honors by Cal-Hi Sports come a week after the longtime publication named McClymonds’ Michael Peters as its state coach of the year .
Peters led Mack to its third consecutive state championship this past season.
He is the third Bay Area coach to receive the honor since 2000, joining Bellarmine’s Mike Janda (2015), Palo Alto’s Earl Hansen (2010) and Oak Grove’s Ed Buller (2007).
The last coach from the Oakland Athletic League to receive the award was Skyline’s John Beam in 1997.
Check back later for updates.

Top News

Ain't No God; don't even think about theism

UnFox News: not a propaganda arm of the Republican party