California Dolphin: statewide California news

NBA rules Kevin Durant double-dribbled late in win over Heat

Warriors forward Kevin Durant should have been called for a double-dribble on Golden State’s final possession of Sunday’s 120-118 win over the Miami Heat, the league announced Monday.
In its latest Last Two Minute Report, the NBA found that Durant did not have his dribble interrupted by inadvertent contact from Heat guard Justice Winslow and “a discontinued dribble should have been called” on the Warriors’ all-star. Instead, play continued and Durant ‘s errant shot was rebounded by DeMarcus Cousins, who was fouled and made two free throws to break a 118-118 tie with 5.4 seconds to play.

Following Sunday’s game, Heat coach Erik Spoelstra spoke out on the call.
“Those are tough calls to make, but everybody saw it. It’s right there in front of everybody,” Spoelstra said. “That should be a violation, and you can’t miss those calls. But we had our chances, it was back and forth.”
On Monday, Spoelstra, who was not fined for Sunday’s comments, said that his words were about “accountability all across” the league.
“I didn’t say anything inflammatory,” Spoelstra told reporters before the Heat’s game in Denver. “I’m allowed to say my piece about that. I didn’t cross the line, so I didn’t anticipate that I would be fined.”
Related Articles





Warriors-Jazz cheatsheet: Utah looking to take season series over the champs









Warriors Looking Forward: “Slimmer margin for error” vs. Jazz, Trail Blazers









Stephen Curry will be the subject of the next Facebook Watch series









Warriors 3 Things: The Four Horsemen of the NBA Apocalypse ride again









Stephen Curry tells Dwyane Wade “you have a lot more in the tank”



Top News

Ain't No God; don't even think about theism

UnFox News: not a propaganda arm of the Republican party